

Meeting: Board of Managers
Meeting date: 8/11/2022
Agenda Item #: 11.3
Request for Board Action

Title: Appointment of Technical Advisory Committee for Land & Water Partnership Initiative

Resolution number: 22-051

Prepared by: Name: Becky Christopher

Phone: 952-641-4512

bchristopher@minnehahacreek.org

Reviewed by: N/A

Recommended action: Appoint Technical Advisory Committee for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative

Schedule: September 2022-January 2023: Technical Advisory Committee Meetings

Budget considerations: N/A

Past Board action: Res # 21-090 Title: Authorization to Initiate Stakeholder Engagement Process for

Permitting Alignment and Responsive Program

Summary:

At the <u>December 16, 2021 Board Meeting</u>, the Minnehaha Creek Watershed District (MCWD) Board of Managers authorized the initiation of a stakeholder engagement process for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative, which is focused on strengthening collaboration with cities and other key partners to support the implementation of impactful projects that benefit the watershed and communities. The stakeholder engagement plan included establishment of a Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) made up of staff representatives across the cities, counties, and park agencies in the watershed. The role of the TAC will be to advise the MCWD on program and policy changes designed to promote partnership, including:

- <u>Land & Water Partnership Program:</u> Development of a new program to provide funding and technical support for partner projects that provide significant water resource benefit
- <u>Permitting Program Alignment</u>: Streamlining the MCWD's regulatory process and rules to improve customer service, align with state requirements, reduce duplication of efforts, and promote early coordination for projects

On July 7, 2022, a kickoff mailing was sent to staff and policymakers at the cities, counties, and other partner agencies to introduce the initiative and invite them to complete an interest form indicating how they would like to engage. MCWD staff have also been making calls and having meetings with partners to discuss the initiative.

From these conversations, and the interest form submittals, there were 26 staff or consultants who applied to serve on the TAC with broad representation across the watershed, including 19 of the 29 cities in the watershed. There were also a few council members who expressed interest in serving on the TAC. Staff is recommending that the TAC be comprised of technical staff and has offered individual meetings with policymakers who have interest in learning about or providing input on the initiative.

For cities/organizations that had more than one interested staff member, one person has been designated as the primary representative with others proposed to serve as alternates. Alternates will receive all the TAC materials and are welcome to attend the meetings and provide input. Staff is recommending the appointment of the attached list of 17 TAC members and 9 alternates.

Recommended TAC members for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative:

Organization	Primary Representative	Alternate
City of Edina	Jessica Vanderwerff Wilson, Water Resources Manager	
City of Hopkins	Ryan Krzos, City Planner	
City of Maple Plain	Dylan Hoflock, Public Works Superintendent	
City of Medina	Dusty Finke, City Planner	
City of Minneapolis	Elizabeth Stout, Water Resources Manager	Shahram Missaghi, Water Resources Coordinator
City of Minnetonka	Sarah Schweiger, Water Resources Engineering Coordinator	Leslie Yetka, Natural Resources Manager
City of Plymouth	Chris LaBounty, City Engineer	Ben Scharenbroich, Water Resources Supervisor
City of Richfield	Chad Donnelly, Assistant Utility Superintendent	
City of St. Louis Park	Erick Francis, Water Resources Manager	Phil Elkin, Engineering Services Manager; Mike Bahe, Natural Resources Manager
City of Victoria	Cara Geheren, City Engineer	
City of Wayzata	Mike Kelly, City Engineer	Emily Goellner, Community Development Director
WSB, representing Deephaven	Rebecca Haug, Sr. Project Manager	
Bolton and Menk, representing Greenwood, Maple Plain, Mound, Orono, St. Bonifacius, Shorewood, Woodland	Bob Bean, Water Resources Project Engineer	
Carver Soil and Water Conservation District	Mike Wanous, District Manager	
Hennepin County	Drew McGovern, Senior Water Resources Engineer	Karen Galles, Land and Water Supervisor; Kris Guentzel, Senior Water Resources Specialist
Three Rivers Park District	Kelly Grissman, Director of Planning	Jami Markle, Director of Natural Resources
Metropolitan Council	Jen Kostrzewski, Principal Environmental Scientist	



RESOLUTION

Resolution number: 22-051

Title: Appointment of Technical Advisory Committee for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative

WHEREAS, on December 16, 2021, the MCWD Board of Managers authorized the initiation of a stakeholder

engagement process for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative, which is focused on strengthening collaboration with cities and other key partners to support the implementation of impactful projects

that benefit the watershed and communities;

WHEREAS, the stakeholder engagement plan included establishment of a Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)

made up of technical staff across the cities, counties, and park agencies in the District;

WHEREAS, the role of the TAC will be to advise MCWD on program and policy changes designed to promote

partnership, including the development of the Land & Water Partnership program and improvements to

the Permitting Program; and

WHEREAS, MCWD solicited the participation of interested technical staff from the municipalities, counties, and

local agencies;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the MCWD Board of Managers appoints the following individuals to serve on the Technical Advisory Committee for the Land & Water Partnership Initiative.

Organization	Primary Representative	Alternate	
City of Edina	Jessica Vanderwerff Wilson		
City of Hopkins	Ryan Krzos		
City of Maple Plain	Dylan Hoflock		
City of Medina	Dusty Finke		
City of Minneapolis	Elizabeth Stout	Shahram Missaghi	
City of Minnetonka	Sarah Schweiger	Leslie Yetka	
City of Plymouth	Chris LaBounty	Ben Scharenbroich	
City of Richfield	Chad Donnelly		
City of St. Louis Park	Erick Francis	Phil Elkin; Mike Bahe	
City of Victoria	Cara Geheren		
City of Wayzata	Mike Kelly	Emily Goellner	
WSB, representing Deephaven	Rebecca Haug		
Bolton and Menk, representing Greenwood, Maple Plain, Mound, Orono, St. Bonifacius, Shorewood, Woodland	Bob Bean		
Carver Soil and Water Conservation District	Mike Wanous		
Hennepin County	Drew McGovern	rn Karen Galles; Kris Guentzel	
Three Rivers Park District	Kelly Grissman	Jami Markle	
Metropolitan Council	Jen Kostrzewski		

Resolution Number 22-0	51 was moved by Manage	er, s	econded by Manager	 . Motion to
adopt the resolution	ayes, nays,abste	entions. Date: 8/11/2	2022	
		Da	ate:	
Secretary				