QUALITY OF WATER



WATERSHED DISTRICT

QUALITY OF LIFE

MEMORANDUM

To: MCWD Planning & Policy Committee
From: Telly Mamayek, Director of Communications and Education
Date: July 24, 2017
Re: 2017 Watershed Heroes

At its meeting on June 8, 2017, the MCWD Board of Managers approved restructuring the Watershed Heroes awards to reflect the guiding principles of the organization. The new awards also retain the Young Naturalist category and the Lifetime Stewardship award, which has been renamed in honor of Cynthia Krieg. The new award categories are as follows:

- **Partnership** Given to an organization or individual that has effectively leveraged their assets in partnership with the Minnehaha Creek Watershed District to achieve exceptional results in natural resource management, integrate their work with the District's and add broader value to the community.
- **Innovation** Given to an organization or individual that has implemented innovative policies, programs, or projects to protect and improve quality of water, quality of life in the Minnehaha Creek Watershed.
- **Excellence** Given to an organization or individual that achieves outstanding natural resource benefits in the Minnehaha Creek Watershed District.
- **Sound Science** Given to an organization or individual that makes a meaningful contribution to the scientific body of knowledge related to natural resource protection.
- Service Given to an organization or individual that has demonstrated a commitment to the environment or whose actions have resulted in the protection or improvement of natural resources in the Minnehaha Creek Watershed.
- Young Naturalist Given to an organization or individual that has demonstrated a commitment to the environment or whose actions have resulted in the protection or improvement of natural resources in the Minnehaha Creek Watershed.
- **Cynthia Krieg Lifetime Stewardship Award** Given will be given to an individual who has, during his or her lifetime, played a significant and lasting role in watershed management and demonstrated leadership in natural resources stewardship.

On June 21, 2017 staff distributed a news release announcing the new awards and soliciting nominations. By the July 21st deadline, a total of 16 nominations were received.

The nominations will be considered by a subcommittee of the staff and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Tuesday, July 25. Staff will bring the subcommittee's recommendation to the Planning and Policy Committee on Thursday, July 27. Staff will be asking for a PPC Committee recommendation to the Board of Managers for final action at the August 10th board meeting.

The awards will be given at the concluding event of the MCWD's 50th anniversary event series – the Sunset Celebration on Thursday, November 2 at St. Mary's Greek Orthodox Church in Minneapolis.

The nominations for the 2017 Watershed Heroes awards are below:

Partnership Blooming Alleys Partnership Japs-Olson Company

Innovation

City of St. Louis Park Lennar Corporation Wilderness Inquiry

Excellence

Park Nicollet

Sound Science Dr. Peter Sorensen

National Weather Service

Service

Minneapolis Area Synod Rob Roy Sean Connaughty Tree Trust

Young Naturalist

Justin Kersteter, Southwest High School Nick Seme, The Blake School

Cynthia Krieg Lifetime Stewardship Award

Peggy Knapp, Freshwater Society (retired) Marv Johnson, Mayor of Independence