Minnehaha Creek Watershed District

REQUEST FOR BOARD ACTION

MEETING DATE	: July 9, 2015				
TITLE: Appointment of Additional Members to Comprehensive Plan Policy Advisory Committee					
RESOLUTION N	UMBER: 15-057				
PREPARED BY: Becky Christopher					
E-MAIL: bchristopher@minnehahacreek.org TELEPHONE: 952-641-4512					
REVIEWED BY:	☐Administrator ☐ Board Committee	□ Coun □ Engin		_ 0 0 \ /	
WORKSHOP ACTION:					
☐ Advance to Board mtg. Consent Agenda. ☐ Advance to Board meeting for discussion prior to action.					
☐ Refer to a future workshop (date):		☐ Refer to taskforce or committee (date):			
☐ Return to staff for additional work.		☐ No further action requested.			
⊠ Other (specify): _Approval on July 9, 2015 consent agenda					

PURPOSE or ACTION REQUESTED:

Appointment of two additional members to serve on the Policy Advisory Committee for the 2017 Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan update.

SUMMARY:

Under Minnesota Rules Chapter 8410, the District must establish an advisory committee, committees, or other means of public and technical participation for the purpose of making recommendations on its Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan or ten-year plan amendment. For its 2017 Plan update, the District has determined that it will utilize its existing Citizen Advisory Committee and establish both a Policy Advisory Committee and Technical Advisory Committee.

Interest in serving on the advisory committees was solicited at the three Comprehensive Plan kickoff meetings in February and March and through a subsequent email request in April. At the May 28, 2015 Board Meeting, the Board appointed all those individuals who had volunteered to serve on the committees (see attached).

Following these initial appointments, staff received two additional requests from communities who wished to be represented on the Policy Advisory Committee:

- Long Lake Council Member Marty Schneider
- Tonka Bay Council Member Jeff Clapp

Neither city is currently represented on the Policy or Technical Advisory Committees. Staff recommends that both be appointed to serve on the Policy Advisory Committee, bringing the total membership for that committee to fifteen.

RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION NUMBER:	15-057
--------------------	--------

TITLE:	Appointment of	f Additional	Members to	Comprehensive	e Plan Polic	v Advisor	v Committee

- WHEREAS, the MCWD Board of Managers seeks to solicit valuable input from its communities and general public on the development of its 2017 Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan (Plan); and
- WHEREAS, Minnesota Rules Chapter 8410, requires that the District establish an advisory committee, committees, or other means of public and technical participation for the purpose of making recommendations on its Plan or ten-year Plan amendment.; and
- WHEREAS, for its 2017 Plan update, the District has determined that it will utilize its existing Citizen Advisory Committee and establish both a Policy Advisory Committee and Technical Advisory Committee; and
- WHEREAS, MCWD solicited the participation of interested technical staff and policy makers from the municipalities, counties, and local/state agencies through its Comprehensive Plan kickoff meetings and subsequent emails; and
- WHEREAS, at the May 28, 2015 MCWD Board Meeting, the Managers appointed all eligible individuals who expressed interest in serving on the Policy Advisory Committee and Technical Advisory Committee; and
- WHEREAS, following these initial appointments, staff received requests from the cities of Long Lake and Tonka Bay asking that they be represented on the Policy Advisory Committee;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the MCWD Board of Managers appoints the following individuals to serve on the Comprehensive Plan Policy Advisory Committee:
 - Long Lake Council Member Marty Schneider
 - Tonka Bay Council Member Jeff Clapp

Resolution Number 15-057 was moved by Manager _ Motion to adopt the resolution ayes, nays, _	
	Date:
Secretary	

Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee Members appointed at May 28, 2015 Board Meeting:

Policy Advisory Committee

1 Olicy Advisory Committee	
Organization	Name
City of Edina	Councilor Bob Stewart
City of Independence	Mayor Marvin Johnson
City of Medina	Administrator Scott Johnson
City of Minneapolis	Councilor Linea Palmisano
City of Minnetonka	Councilor Patty Acomb
City of Minnetrista	Mayor Lisa Whalen
City of Orono	Mayor Lili McMillan
City of Shorewood	Mayor Scott Zerby
City of Victoria	Mayor Tom O'Conner
City of Woodland	Councilor Sliv Carlson
Department of Natural Resources	Central Region Manager Terri Yearwood
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Commissioner Stephanie Musich
Three Rivers Park District	Commissioner Gene Kay

Technical Advisory Committee

Organization	Name
City of Chanhassen	Terry Jeffery
City of Edina	Ross Bintner
City of Hopkins	Nate Stanley
City of Minneapolis	Lois Eberhart
City of Minnetonka	Liz Stout
Cities of Mound, St. Bonifacius, Deephaven, Woodland, Greenwood, Orono	Bob Bean
City of Plymouth	Derek Asche
Cities of Shorewood and Minnetrista	Paul Hornby
City of St. Louis Park	Erick Francis
City of Victoria	Cara Geheren
City of Wayzata	Mike Kelly
Carver County	Kristin Larson
Carver Soil and Water Conservation District	Mike Wanous
Hennepin County Environmental Services	Randy Anhorn
Board of Water and Soil Resources	Steve Christopher
Department of Natural Resources	Kate Drewry
Metropolitan Council	Karen Jensen
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Rachael Crabb/Deb Pilger
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency	Chris Zadak
Three Rivers Park District	John Barten (replaced by Rich Brasch)