Minnehaha Creek Watershed District

REQUEST FOR BOARD ACTION

MEETING DATE: May 28, 2015						
TITLE: Appointment of Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee Members						
RESOLUTION NUMBER: 15-050						
PREPARED BY: Becky Christopher						
E-MAIL : bchristopher@minnehahacreek.org TELEPHONE : 952-641-4512						
REVIEWED BY:	□Administrator □ Board Committee			☐ Program Mgr. (Name): ☐ Other		
WORKSHOP ACTION:						
☐ Advance to Board mtg. Consent Agenda.			□ Adv	ance to Board meeting for discussion prior to action.		
☐ Refer to a future workshop (date):			□Ref	er to taskforce or committee (date):		
☐ Return to staff for additional work.			□Nof	further action requested.		
☐ Other (specif	y):					

PURPOSE or ACTION REQUESTED:

Appointment of members to serve on the Technical Advisory Committee and Policy Advisory Committee for the 2017 Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan update.

SUMMARY:

Under Minnesota Rules Chapter 8410, the District must establish an advisory committee, committees, or other means of public and technical participation for the purpose of making recommendations on its Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan or ten-year plan amendment.

For its 2017 Plan update, the District has determined that it will utilize its existing Citizen Advisory Committee and establish both a Policy Advisory Committee and Technical Advisory Committee. Below is a summary of the target audience and expected time commitment for each:

Policy Advisory Committee:

- Council members, board members, and administrators from municipalities, counties, and local/state agencies
- 5-6 meetings total over next 18 months, scheduled around members' availability

Technical Advisory Committee:

- Municipal, county, and agency staff
- 7-8 meetings total over next 18 months, scheduled around members' availability

Citizen Advisory Committee:

- Existing 15-member committee, other interested public are welcome to attend and provide input
- Will utilize standing monthly meetings occurring on 2nd Wednesday of each month

DRAFT for discussion purposes only and subject to Board approval and the availability of funds. Resolutions are not final until approved by the Board and signed by the Board Secretary.

A Six Mile Steering Committee, focused specifically on developing an implementation plan for the Six Mile Creek Subwatershed, will be appointed later in 2015 following additional outreach to potential members.

Interest in serving on the advisory committees was solicited at the three Comprehensive Plan kickoff meetings in February and March and through a subsequent email request. Below is a list of those who have indicated interest in serving on the committees:

Technical Advisory Committee (20 total)

Organization	Name
City of Chanhassen	Terry Jeffery
City of Edina	Ross Bintner
City of Hopkins	Nate Stanley
City of Minneapolis	Lois Eberhart
City of Minnetonka	Liz Stout
Cities of Mound, St. Bonifacius, Deephaven, Woodland, Greenwood, Orono	Bob Bean
City of Plymouth	Derek Asche
Cities of Shorewood and Minnetrista	Paul Hornby
City of St. Louis Park	Erick Francis
City of Victoria	Cara Geheren
City of Wayzata	Mike Kelly
Carver County	Kristin Larson
Carver Soil and Water Conservation District	Mike Wanous
Hennepin County Environmental Services	Randy Anhorn
Board of Water and Soil Resources	Steve Christopher
Department of Natural Resources	Kate Drewry
Metropolitan Council	Karen Jensen
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Rachael Crabb/Deb Pilger
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency	Chris Zadak
Three Rivers Park District	John Barten

Policy Advisory Committee (13 total)

Organization	Name
City of Edina	Councilor Bob Stewart
City of Independence	Mayor Marvin Johnson
City of Medina	Administrator Scott Johnson
City of Minneapolis	Councilor Linea Palmisano
City of Minnetonka	Councilor Patty Acomb
City of Minnetrista	Mayor Lisa Whalen
City of Orono	Mayor Lili McMillan
City of Shorewood	Mayor Scott Zerby
City of Victoria	Mayor Tom O'Conner
City of Woodland	Councilor Sliv Carlson
Department of Natural Resources	Central Region Manager Terri Yearwood
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Commissioner Stephanie Musich
Three Rivers Park District	Commissioner Gene Kay

Staff recommends that all of the members listed above be appointed to serve on the Comprehensive Plan Technical and Policy Advisory Committees.

RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION NUMBER: <u>15-050</u>

TITLE: Appointment of Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee Members

- WHEREAS, the MCWD Board of Managers seeks to solicit valuable input from its communities and general public on the development of its 2017 Comprehensive Water Resources Management Plan (Plan); and
- WHEREAS, Minnesota Rules Chapter 8410, requires that the District establish an advisory committee, committees, or other means of public and technical participation for the purpose of making recommendations on its Plan or ten-year Plan amendment.; and
- WHEREAS, for its 2017 Plan update, the District has determined that it will utilize its existing Citizen Advisory Committee and establish both a Policy Advisory Committee and Technical Advisory Committee; and
- WHEREAS, MCWD has solicited the participation of interested technical staff and policy makers from the municipalities, counties, and local/state agencies through the its Comprehensive Plan kickoff meetings and subsequent emails; and
- WHEREAS, at the MWCD Board Workshop dated May 14, 2015, it was moved by Manager Miller, seconded by Manager Shekleton and passed 7-0 that this resolution be forward to the next Board Meeting for final action;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the MCWD Board of Managers appoints the following individuals to serve on the Comprehensive Plan Policy and Technical Advisory Committees:

Policy Advisory Committee

Organization	Name
City of Edina	Councilor Bob Stewart
City of Independence	Mayor Marvin Johnson
City of Medina	Administrator Scott Johnson
City of Minneapolis	Councilor Linea Palmisano
City of Minnetonka	Councilor Patty Acomb
City of Minnetrista	Mayor Lisa Whalen
City of Orono	Mayor Lili McMillan
City of Shorewood	Mayor Scott Zerby
City of Victoria	Mayor Tom O'Conner
City of Woodland	Councilor Sliv Carlson
Department of Natural Resources	Central Region Manager Terri Yearwood
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Commissioner Stephanie Musich
Three Rivers Park District	Commissioner Gene Kay

Technical Advisory Committee

Technical Advisory Committee	Name -
Organization	Name
City of Chanhassen	Terry Jeffery
City of Edina	Ross Bintner
City of Hopkins	Nate Stanley
City of Minneapolis	Lois Eberhart
City of Minnetonka	Liz Stout
Cities of Mound, St. Bonifacius, Deephaven, Woodland, Greenwood, Orono	Bob Bean
City of Plymouth	Derek Asche
Cities of Shorewood and Minnetrista	Paul Hornby
City of St. Louis Park	Erick Francis
City of Victoria	Cara Geheren
City of Wayzata	Mike Kelly
Carver County	Kristin Larson
Carver Soil and Water Conservation District	Mike Wanous
Hennepin County Environmental Services	Randy Anhorn
Board of Water and Soil Resources	Steve Christopher
Department of Natural Resources	Kate Drewry
Metropolitan Council	Karen Jensen
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board	Rachael Crabb/Deb Pilger
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency	Chris Zadak
Three Rivers Park District	John Barten

Resolution Number 15-050 was moved by Manager	, seconded by Manager
Motion to adopt the resolution ayes, nays,abst	entions. Date:
	Date:
Secretary	